31 Days of Comics Day 17: A Comic that Reminds Me of Someone

Unlike my last post, where I struggled to come up with even one comic that made me cry, I had the opposite problem here. Almost every comic I remember connects to someone I know or knew at the time. I decided to pick a comic that I basically only remember in relation to another person. Someone who is quite dear to me.

To be frank, I remember that Dash Shaw’s Bodyworld has something to do with a horrific near future and a magic plant of some kind. I think the main character studies plants? I could be getting it mixed up with Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation, which I read a few years after Bodyworld, but I think I’m right. The only thing I can really recall about this book is that it has a lot of Dash Shaw’s famously beautiful and oddly crafted images in it. Plot beats and character names are all blank. Oh! The other thing I remember is that it’s read vertically, with the pages hanging down out of the book so that when you read it the pages sprawl out like fat noodles.

It’s a beautiful piece of work, and I remember it somewhat fondly if only because of the person who recommended it to me. This and David Mazzucchelli’s Asterios Polyp were some of the first big, more experimental comics I can remember reading. So although I don’t remember much about it, I can at least say it was important to me for that reason. Give me a break it’s been like nine years since I’ve read it, and I didn’t completely understand it the first time either.

I would recommend this book both to other and, honestly, to myself for a re-read. I’m not sure if the libraries around here have a copy, but it intrigues me enough to think that another reading would stick with me better. If you recommended this to me, you know who you are. Thank you!

1 thought on “31 Days of Comics Day 17: A Comic that Reminds Me of Someone”

Leave a comment